Brief History

The Department of Architecture was one of the pioneer departments at the inception of the University. Anambra State University, as it was then called, was later renamed Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University. The undergraduate (BSc) programme commenced in 2000/2001 session with 4 students as part of the School of Environmental Studies which was co-ordinated by Professor G. C. Okechukwu. It had three (3) adjunct staff:  Arc. Dr E. C. Udegbe, Mr I. O. Okereke and Mr V. I. Akpunonu. In the 2002/2003 session, Arc. Dr K. E. Ezeji and Arc. A. O. Okolie were employed as full-time staff. Within this session Arc. Dr K. E. Ezeji was appointed the Acting Head of the Department and the reorganisation of the school saw the Department of Architecture emerge as part of the Faculty of Engineering and Environmental Sciences (FEES) with Professor G. C. Okechukwu as the Dean. Within 2003/2004 session, three (3) adjunct and two (2) full-time staff joined the Department. The adjunct staff were Professor U. A. Awuzie, Arc. M. C. Officha and Arc. Eni, while the full-time staff were Arc. Dr B. O. Agoha and Arc. Dr (Mrs) N. U. Okolo.

In the 2004/2005 session Arc. C. C. Okpala joined the staff team and Dr Sam Chukwujekwu was appointed the Dean (FEES). Other staff: Arc. P. C. Mbanugo, Arc. P. O. C. Osunkwo, Arc. S. C. Iwundu (late) and Arc. A. I. V. Maduabum joined the Department in 2006. Arc. P. C. Mbanugo became the Head of Department in 2007. Arc. B. S. A. Okoye, Arc. I. B. Echeta, Arc. C. Munonye and Mr L. C. Chineme (adjunct) joined the staff team and the Department moved to its new building the same year. Arc. A. I. V. Maduabum succeeded Arc. P. C. Mbanugo as Head of Department and was also succeeded by Arc. B. S. A. Okoye as Head of Department in 2009. In the 2007/2008 session Arc. C. T. N. M. Madubuko, Arc. F. N. C. Maduh and Arc. O. C. Ifebi joined the department as academic staff and Arc. I. O. Nwoke as the technologist but later converted to academic staff. In 2012, Arc. Dr B. O. Agoha became the Head of Department. In 2013 Professor A. O. Olotuah and Associate professor O. O. Odim joined the academic staff as adjunct lecturers. Arc Agoha was succeeded by Arc. Dr N. U. Okolo as Head in 2014.

In the non-teaching cadre Mrs N. M. Maduka joined as draughtsman and later converted to technologist. Other non-teaching staff included Mr Michael Orji, Miss Veronica Ezemegwara and Miss Nkechi Metu. Similarly, in 2009, Mrs Francisca Ogoanabiuba and Mrs Patience Ugwunze joined staff. Others who joined in 2009 were Mrs Denis E. Agbasiere and Mrs Louisa Esiaka. Some of these have since been reposted to other departments. The Department started with the undergraduate (BSc) programme in 2000. She progressed to add postgraduate programmes: the MSc Programme in 2009 and the PhD programme in 2013. In 2020, the Department has over 200 students enrolled at various levels of her undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.