Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology:
A Hub of Innovation and Excellence

The Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology (FHS&T) at Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Igbariam, stands as one of the university’s newest and most dynamic faculties. Established during the 2021/2022 academic session, FHS&T is pivotal in generating essential knowledge through scientific research to develop sustainable systems and programs that meet societal needs and enhance its values.

Prof. Nkeiruka Marykate Orji

Our philosophy is rooted in pursuing academic excellence through hands-on education that transforms value-based learning in Health Sciences and Technology.

Our vision is to be a faculty of excellence in research, teaching, and learning that serves humanity through multi-skilled and socially responsible citizens. The Faculty is committed to improving health and lives of individuals and enhancing the welfare of society.

Our mission is to provide an excellent platform for research, teaching, and learning in science, technology, and humanities. We aim to produce graduates who are skilled, functionally creative, and worthy in character, equipped to make significant and sustainable contributions to societal development.

– The success of our faculty, staff, students, and alumni.

– Commitment to fundamental, operational, applied, and multidisciplinary research.

– University-Health-Technology-Ecosystem partnerships.

Milestones and Accreditation

FHS&T has undergone rigorous resource verification and has secured approvals from both the National University Commission (NUC) and the Nigeria Medical Councils of Nursing Science and Medical Laboratory Science. We are currently in the planning stages for the accreditation of both academic programs.

Faculty History

Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University (COOU), formerly known as Anambra State University, was established in 2000. The university has evolved over the years, with significant changes in its structure and name. The current name, COOU, was adopted on 11th September 2014, marking a new chapter in the university’s history with campuses in Awka, Igbariam, and Uli.

The Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology, being the youngest faculty, was established with Professor Nkeiruka Marykate Orji as the pioneer dean. Since its inception, the faculty has been dedicated to excellence in education, research, and community service.

Departments and Leadership

The Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology commenced with two departments, each led by distinguished professionals:

  1. Department of Medical Laboratory Science

   – Head of Department: Professor Chinelo Ursula Umedum

  1. Department of Nursing Science

   – Acting Head of Department: Dr. Ada Maryann Ibekwe

We are committed to expanding our academic programs to cater to the growing needs of the healthcare sector.

Why Choose FHS&T?

– Cutting-edge Education: We provide a robust practical training environment that integrates theoretical, pre-clinical, and clinical knowledge with strict adherence to safety measures.

– Accreditation and Quality: Our programs have obtained necessary approvals from reputable bodies, ensuring that our education meets national and international standards.

– Expert Faculty: Learn from experienced and dedicated faculty members who are leaders in their respective fields.

– Research Opportunities: Engage in innovative research that contributes to the advancement of health sciences and technology.

– Community Impact: Our graduates are equipped to make meaningful contributions to societal health and welfare.

Join Us

The Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology at Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University is dedicated to nurturing the next generation of healthcare professionals and researchers. We invite you to join us on this exciting journey of learning, discovery, and impact.


For more information and enquiries, please contact us at:

Email: nm.orji@coou.edu.ng

Embrace excellence in health sciences and technology with FHS&T, COOU. Together, let’s build a healthier and brighter future.